Preston’s College staff nominated for four prestigious awards

Preston’s College are delighted to have been nominated for four awards in the prestigious Educate North Awards, which celebrates, recognises and shares best practice and excellence in the education sector in the North.

With over 27 categories initially open for entry, the hard work and dedication of staff has been recognised in the Social Mobility, Community Engagement and Further Education College of the Year categories, with specific recognition going to Trowel Occupations and School Links Lecturer, Zac Wilkinson, nominated for the highly respected Teaching Excellence Award.

The Social Mobility Award recognises established institutions that are supporting the education and/or employment prospects of students from lower socio-economic backgrounds, whilst the Community Engagement Award identifies institutions playing an integral role in the development of their individual’s understanding through the important of community engagement and trends in society.

Lecturer, Zac, has been nominated for the Teaching Excellence Award, through demonstration of sustained impact with students here in Preston, whilst the wider college, nominated in the Further Education College of the Year category will see judges select an overall winner on the basis of being able to evidence outstanding performance in the areas of teaching, student experience, innovation and economic impact.

Dr Lis Smith, Principal and Chief Executive of Preston’s College said: “I am delighted that Preston’s College has been recognised in not just one but four categories at the forthcoming Educate North Awards. The nominations evidence the hard work of staff across a wide range of departments here at the college.  With a strong reputation for the delivery of highly effective technical education, the awards provide an opportunity to celebrate success, innovation and dedication as we showcase the very best of Preston’s College to the wider North West.”

The team will find out if they have become winners at the awarding ceremony, attracting over 300 education professionals from Further and Higher Education institutions across the North, on 23rd April 2020 at Hilton Deansgate, Manchester.


Skip to content